Why Do I Need Pages In My Blog?

Do you want to attract new visitors to your blog? Do you want them to find your blog through Google? Google favors websites with fresh content with high page rank. Blogs are updated frequently, and it looks like Google is starting to give higher rank to websites with pages that are updated frequently.
Brandon Leibowitz of Pandia Search Engine News writes “Google loves to see fresh, new, original, updated content on web pages.” Important information should be available to your visitors in one click. It should appear on your navigation so that people can get details on your product or services immediately, without having to plow through the blog.
Blogging is important, but it is just one element in good Search Engine Optimization (SEO).

7 responses to “Why Do I Need Pages In My Blog?

  1. I’ve been tinkering this afternoon with my blog. I’ve got two additional pages, but how do I get the Title page (the home page with the posts on it) in the navigation list? In other words, if a visitor has navigated over to the Answers page, how do she navigate back to the Title Page? It appears in my Page list but can’t be edited.

    • You would think that themes that offered pages would have a tab for “Home” but, sorry, not all themes are created equal. PlasticParts selected an eye-catching theme, but it lacks a home page. There is a beautiful seascape theme that also lacks a home page link. This “Cutline” theme calls it “front page” because it is a newspaper-style. The number themes available at the free hosting service provided by wordpress.COM is limited, but there are many more to choose from if you decide to host your own theme and choose one from http://themes.wordpress.net. My recommendation: browse a few more themes. Look at the first five on the list on our Class page.

  2. For now, I’m using this workaround: I put the Recent Posts widget in the sidebar. That will get folks back to the page with the posts on it.

  3. I found a theme that I like better. It gives me navigation tabs including one for a home page. Now I’m trying to add more features to my work-in-progress. I’m trying to change the favicon. I found the line in the HEADER.PHP file that references the favicon and overwrote it with <link rel="shortcut icon" href="/favicon.ico” /> Then I put overwrote the favicon in the default folder of the theme folder of the new theme that I installed with my favicon. But all I’ve managed to do is replace the author’s favicon with the browser’s default favicon. Where’d I go wrong?

    • Using a custom favicon is a wordpress.ORG feature, but I see that’s what you are using. Your blog is in a subdirectory. Is your favicon.ico (the actual image) in the root directory (yes it is) or the blog subdirectory? Try placing a copy of the image in the blog subdirectory. If that doesn’t work, change the href to “../favicon.ico” which tells the computer to “look one directory up for the favicon.” Let me know which works. πŸ™‚

      To find out how to put a favicon or blavatar on a WordPress.COM website, see my post on blog pictures and icons.

  4. Did that. Overwrote the StudioPress favicon with mine, a teeny version of our book cover, i.e. a blue book with a white truck on it.

Leave a Reply

